Meet our board

Joel Mowchenko, Chair

Moose Jaw/Assiniboia – District 2Joel Mowchenko
Term expires: 2021

Through his work on the board of directors at Conexus, Joel is committed to ensuring the credit union continues to deliver on its co-operative values, contributing to the financial success of its members and member communities.

  • Graduate from the University of Saskatchewan. Completed his CUDA Level A as well as the Certified Credit Union Director (CCD) designation through CUES and the Rotman School of Management.
  • Joel and his wife Cheryl own and manage an organic mixed farming operation near Mossbank, SK.  Joel is a Professional Agrologist  (PAg) and is dedicated to promoting sustainable agriculture.
  • Actively involved in the community coaching volleyball, serving on numerous boards and committees, and volunteering at his local church.

Kara Marchand, Vice Chair

Regina – District 1Kara
Term expires: 2019
Committee: Audit and Conduct Review

Kara would like to give back to her community and help younger and future generations understand the co-operative system and the benefits it can provide to its members.

  • Worked in a retail co-operative system in high school and grew up in a rural community, banking with a credit union.
  • Financial and business background, has a CPA and CMA.
  • In her current role, she has responsibility for financial management, risk management and strategic planning.

John Benson

Regina – District 1John
Term expires: 2019
Committee: Audit and Conduct Review (Chair)

John is passionate about community. He is committed to seeing Conexus grow and achieve its strategic objectives, while maintaining its core values.

  • John has a Commerce degree from the University of Victoria and is a Charter Holder with the Canadian Institute of Chartered Business Valuators.
  • Part of the finance committee at Westminster United Church, a director of Life by Life youth organization, and coaches community youth basketball, football, and rugby.
  • Chief Financial Officer for Keystone Royalty Corp. and the VP Finance for Villanova 4 Oil Corp.

Leah Clement

Regina – District 1Leah
Term expires: 2021
Committee: Audit and Conduct Review

As a Registered Nurse with close to a 30 year career in healthcare, Leah is passionate about advocating for people. Living throughout the province from remote north to south and working with people of all ages, ethnicities and socioeconomic status, she understands the needs and challenges of a diverse population.

She currently works as the Executive Director Health Services with Eden Care Communities and is also certified as a Lab & X-ray technician.

  • Leah holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Nursing from the University of Saskatchewan.
  • Involved with the Saskatchewan Registered Nurses Association Board and the Saskatchewan Association of Combined Lab & X-Ray technicians.
  • Community involvement includes the Queen City Marathon, La Ronge Skating Club, Canadian Parents for French and other community initiatives.

Karin Ferris

Prince Albert/La Ronge – District 4Karin
Term expires: 2021
Committee: Governance and Human Resources

Karin is an active and passionate member of her community. She is experienced in financial wellness, human resources and community involvement and will strive to make a solid contribution to the strategy of the Conexus Credit Union Board. She is very proud to be from Saskatchewan and from Prince Albert. She further appreciates Conexus’ commitment to having a local credit union that works hard to provide important services to Saskatchewan communities.

  • Karin holds a Bachelor of Commerce Degree from the University of Saskatchewan and Certificate in Insolvency Counselling.
  • Various Board and Community Involvements include Mont St. Joseph Foundation, South Hill Tiny Tot Daycare, Victoria Hospital, Ronald McDonald Room, YMCA Stroke Swim and Special Olympics, swim teach coach.

Malcolm Eaton

Humboldt/Saskatoon - District 5Malcolm
Term expires: 2020
Committees: Risk (Chair), Governance and Human Resources

Malcolm has spent a career working collaboratively as a community leader and brings his leadership and experience to Conexus.  

  • Bachelor of Education and post graduate diploma education administration from the University of Regina.
  • Professional Director designation, Brown Governance / Johnson Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy.
  • Former mayor and councillor, City of Humboldt.

Karla Hardcastle

Prince Albert/La Ronge - District 4Karla
Term expires: 2020
Committee: Governance and Human Resources (Chair)

Karla Hardcastle is a co-operator at heart and believes in the co-operative values and putting the needs of members first.

  • Master of Arts and Bachelor of Arts from the University of Saskatchewan studying the history and development of co-operatives.
  • Extensive experience with co-operatives professionally and as a volunteer.
  • Former deputy mayor, Village of Air Ronge.

Curtis Kosolofski


Regina - District 1
Term expires - 2020
Committees: Audit and Conduct Review, Governance and Human Resources

Curtis brings a combination of youth and diversified experience in the financial world having spent more than 10 years as a Chartered Professional Accountant. 

  • Chartered Accountant/Chartered Professional Accountant, Chartered Accountant School of Business.
  • Bachelor of Business Administration, University of Regina.
  • Gives back to the community by getting involved with youth as a coach for the Regina Soccer Association.

Sandra Kitts

Moose Jaw/Assiniboia – District 2Sandra
Term expires: 2019
Committee: Risk

Sandra is dedicated to improving well-being for individuals and organizations. Her commitment to serve on the Conexus Board of Directors adds great value to several board functions.

  • Completed a Bachelor of Education at the University of Regina, as well as a Master of Education and Doctorate Degree from the University of Oregon. 
  • For over three decades Sandra worked for a Saskatchewan School Division as a teacher, principal, and Superintendent of Learning. She has also worked with the Board of Education.
  • Experience in both rural and urban settings and enjoys taking part in community events, especially those that involve youth, sports, and the arts.

Rick Pattison

Fort Qu’Appelle/Moosomin - District 3
Term expires: 2020
Committee: Risk

Rick is the president and CEO of Pattison, a leading manufacturer of liquid fertilizer application systems and crop protection handling equipment. The Pattison group continue to be innovative in evolving their application methods and adapting their equipment to meet the needs of the evolving global agricultural industry.

  • Ag-producer near Lemberg, SK.
  • Serves on several ag-industry and community related boards
  • Past director on Abernathy Credit Union board

Jason Schenn

Fort Qu’Appelle/Moosomin – District 3Jason Schenn
Term expires: 2019
Committee: Risk

Throughout his career with Co-op Retailing System (CRS) Jason has learned more about the co-operative system and gained a better understanding of how the shared goals of a co-operative make a difference in the communities they serve.

  • General manager of Borderland Co-op in Moosomin, which serves Moosomin, Rocanville, Whitewood, and Maryfield with petroleum, food and home centres.
  • Took the ADVANCE Management Training Program with Federated Co-operatives Ltd. and the Effective Executive Course through Edwards School of Business.
  • Employee delegate with the Co-operative Superannuation Association, director for a non-profit organization working to preserve the RD McNaughton Building and served as vice-president and treasurer for the Pipestone Hills Golf Club.